Privacy and Security Policy for ACOL


Purpose

This policy has been created to inform you of the standards and requirements that are in place to provide for the privacy and security of any personal information provided by you to perform a transaction using an ACOL-hosted service or to manage your account information with the ACOL system ("ACOL Access"). This policy accords with relevant provincial and territorial freedom of information and privacy legislation for the collection, use and disclosure of personal information.

What is Considered Personal Information?

For purposes of the ACOL Access and in accordance with relevant provincial and territorial freedom of information and privacy legislation, all information concerning an identifiable individual is considered personal information ("Personal Information"). Examples of Personal Information include your name, an identifying number such as your driver's licence number, your birth date, your email address, or your credit card information. Other examples of Personal Information are included in relevant provincial and territorial freedom of information and privacy legislation.

For the purposes of this Privacy Statement and this ACOL service, we may collect Personal Information such as your name, postal address, e-mail address and credit card information.

We collect general information about your use of this service such as Internet Protocol address and domain name, web browser version, and areas of our Site you visit. This statistical information is described later in the section "What Statistical Information is Collected?"

How is Your Personal Information Collected, Used, and Disclosed?

The following guidelines govern the collection, use, and disclosure of Personal Information in order to complete the ACOL Access transaction (including financial reconciliation, audit and processing refunds).

Should any situation arise which would cause the use of Personal Information which would be inconsistent with the above guidelines, your prior consent for such use will be required.

What Statistical Information Is Collected?

So that we may improve the content of this ACOL service and to help us understand how people are using it, the following information about your use of this ACOL service is automatically collected and stored by our Web server:

The above information is used solely for gathering summary statistics and for maintaining the security of the Site. Information stored in our logs about your visit helps us to analyze our site and service and to continually improve the value of the materials available. The information will not be used to personally identify you, except as authorized by law, to maintain the security of the site, or with your further consent in writing. Statistical information is protected and disposed of according to accepted records management practices.

About Our Business Partners

Some functions within this ACOL Service are provided by service providers. All external service providers must meet the applicable security and privacy requirements of this policy, and also be in compliance with applicable laws.

Atlantic Canada On-Line (ACOL) is an online electronic service created by the four Atlantic Canadian provinces and Unisys Canada Inc. to provide electronic access to government information and services.

How Secure is this Online Service?

Various steps have been taken to safeguard your Personal Information, as well as the integrity of its telecommunications and computing infrastructure. These steps include various forms of authentication, monitoring, auditing, and encryption.

To ensure the security and integrity of your information, this services uses Transport Layer Security (TLS)

We use the "Cookies" feature to allow proper navigation of the various screens and functions throughout the Service. Although these Cookies are stored on the computer you are using, no Personal Information which would identify you is included in the information stored as part of the Cookie. If you choose not to enable (or to disable) the Cookies function within your browser, you will not be able to use the service. Depending on choices you have made in setting up your browser the Cookies may be deleted when you leave the site.

ACOL Web servers automatically collect some information about a visitor's computer or other access device, such as its Internet protocol address or browser version, in their logs. This information is used in aggregate form for statistical purposes only.

What is done with Survey Requests and Information?

During the process of conducting business using this ACOL service, you may be offered the opportunity to provide feedback to us regarding the quality and features of our service offerings. Any information you may provide during survey activities is maintained for the sole purpose of improving service quality and offerings. Survey information is collected, stored and analysed in aggregate form only. We do not disclose any Personal Information provided by you in the course of an electronic survey to third parties except as required to complete survey analysis or as permitted by law.

Statement Changes

The Provinces reserve the right, in their discretion, to amend this Privacy Statement at any time by posting amendments on this web site. You are responsible for periodically reviewing the amendments on this web site and you are deemed to be aware of such amendments. When using this ACOL service, the privacy and security of your Personal Information will be bound by the terms and conditions of this Privacy Statement and applicable legislation in effect at the time of your transaction.

Policy Changes

Changes to this Privacy and Security Policy may occur from time to time. When using the ACOL system, the security and privacy of your Personal Information will be bound by the policy and applicable privacy legislation that is current at the time the ACOL Access is initiated.

Contact for Further Information

For more information regarding this Privacy and Security Policy or to comment on its content, please contact: the ACOL Client Support Centre.

 

Please click "X" in the Privacy and Security Policy tab above to close this window.

Politique de protection des renseignements personnels et de sécurité pour ACOL


Objectif

Cette politique a été créée pour vous informer des normes et exigences en place pour assurer la protection et la sécurité de tout renseignement personnel que vous fournirez pour effectuer une transaction à l'aide du service hébergé par ACOL ou pour gérer les renseignements sur votre compte à l'aide du système ACOL (« Accès à ACOL »).. Cette politique est conforme à toutes les lois provinciales et territoriales pertinentes concernant l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels pour la collecte, l'utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels.

Que sont les renseignements personnels?

Pour les besoins de l'accès à ACOL et en conformité avec les lois provinciales et territoriales pertinentes sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels, tous les renseignements personnels concernant un particulier identifiable sont considérés comme des renseignements personnels (« Renseignements personnels »). En voici des exemples : votre nom , un numéro qui vous identifie tel que votre numéro de permis de conduire, votre date de naissance, votre adresse de courriel ou des renseignements sur votre carte de crédit. D'autres exemples de renseignements personnels sont inclus dans les lois provinciales et territoriales pertinentes concernant l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels..

Aux fins de la présente déclaration de confidentialité et de ce service ACOL, nous pouvons recueillir des renseignements personnels tels que vos nom, adresse postale, adresse de courriel et renseignements de carte de crédit.

Nous recueillons des renseignements généraux sur votre utilisation de ce service, comme l'adresse de protocole Internet et le nom de domaine, la version du navigateur Internet et les parties de notre site que vous visitez. Ces renseignements statistiques sont décrits plus loin sous la rubrique « Quels sont les renseignements statistiques recueillis? »

Comment les renseignements personnels sont-ils recueillis, utilisés et divulgués?

Les lignes directrices suivantes régissent la collecte, l'utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels dans le but de compléter la transaction d'accès à ACOL (y compris la conciliation financière, la vérification et le traitement de remboursements).

Si une situation devait entraîner l'utilisation de renseignements personnels qui ne concordent pas avec les lignes directrices ci-dessus, votre consentement préalable à cette utilisation serait requis.

Quels renseignements statistiques sont recueillis?

Afin que nous puissions améliorer le contenu de ce service ACOL, et pour nous aider à comprendre comment les gens l'utilisent, l'information qui suit sur votre utilisation de ce service ACOL est automatiquement recueillie et stockée dans notre serveur Web :.

Les renseignements ci-dessus ne servent qu'à recueillir des statistiques sommaires et à maintenir la sécurité du site. L'information sur votre visite qui est stockée dans nos journaux nous aide à analyser notre site et notre service, et à améliorer sans cesse la valeur du matériel qui s'y trouve. L'information ne sera pas utilisée pour vous identifier personnellement, sauf lorsque c'est autorisé par la loi, pour maintenir la sécurité du site ou avec votre consentement écrit. Les renseignements statistiques sont protégés et supprimés conformément aux pratiques de gestion des dossiers acceptées.

Au sujet de nos associés d'affaires

Certaines fonctions de ce service ACOL sont offertes par des fournisseurs de services. Tous les fournisseurs de services externes doivent répondre aux exigences de sécurité et de confidentialité qui s'appliquent de cette politique, et se conformer aux lois qui s'appliquent.

Atlantic Canada On-Line (ACOL) est un service électronique en ligne créé par les quatre provinces canadiennes de l'Atlantique et par Unisys Canada Inc. pour offrir l'accès électronique à l'information et aux services gouvernementaux.

À quel point ce service en ligne est-il sécurisé?

Différentes mesures ont été prises pour protéger vos renseignements personnels, de même que l'intégrité de l'infrastructure de télécommunications et informatique. On compte parmi celles-ci différentes formes d'authentification, de surveillance, de vérification et de chiffrement.

Pour assurer la sécurité et l’intégrité de vos renseignements, ce service utilise Transport Layer Security (TLS).

Nous utilisons des témoins pour permettre la navigation entre les différents écrans et fonctions du service. Bien que ces témoins soient stockés sur l'ordinateur que vous utilisez , aucun renseignement personnel qui vous identifie n'est inclus dans l'information stockée dans le témoin. Si vous choisissez de ne pas activer (ou de désactiver) la fonction de témoin dans votre navigateur, vous ne pourrez pas utiliser ce service. Selon les choix que vous avez faits dans les paramètres de votre navigateur, les témoins peuvent être supprimés lorsque vous quittez le site.

Les serveurs Web ACOL recueillent automatiquement dans leurs journaux certains renseignements sur l'ordinateur d'un visiteur ou sur un autre dispositif d'accès, par exemple l'adresse de protocole Internet ou la version du navigateur. Ces renseignements sont utilisés sous forme agrégée aux fins de statistiques seulement.

Qu'advient-il des demandes de sondages et de l'information?

Dans le cours de vos activités à l'aide de ce service ACOL, il se peut qu'on vous offre l'occasion de nous transmettre vos commentaires sur la qualité et les fonctions de nos services. Tout renseignement que vous pourriez fournir dans le cadre d'un sondage sera conservé aux seules fins d'améliorer la qualité et les services offerts. L'information du sondage est recueillie, stockée et analysée sous forme agrégée seulement. Nous ne divulguons aucun renseignement personnel que vous nous avez fourni dans le cours d'un sondage électronique à des tiers, sauf si c'est nécessaire pour analyser le sondage ou dans la mesure permise par la loi.

Changements à la déclaration

Les provinces se réservent le droit, à leur discrétion, de modifier la présente déclaration de confidentialité en tout temps, en affichant les modifications sur ce site Web. Il vous incombe de réviser périodiquement ces modifications sur ce site Web, et vous êtes réputé en avoir pris connaissance. Lorsque vous utilisez ce service ACOL, la confidentialité et la sécurité de vos renseignements personnels seront assujettis aux modalités et conditions de la présente déclaration de confidentialité et aux lois en vigueur qui s'appliquent au moment de votre transaction.

Changements à la politique

Des changements peuvent être apportés de temps à autre à la présente politique de protection des renseignements personnels et de sécurité. Lorsque vous utilisez le système ACOL, la sécurité et la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels seront liées par la politique et la législation applicable relative à la protection de la vie privée en vigueur au moment de l'accès à ACOL.

Avec qui communiquer pour obtenir plus d'information

Pour plus d'information au sujet de cette politique de protection des renseignements personnels et de sécurité, ou pour commenter sur son contenu, veuillez communiquer avec : le centre de soutien à la clientèle ACOL.

 

Veuillez cliquez sur le « X » dans l’ onglet Politique de Confidentialité et sécurité ci-dessus pour fermer cette fenêtre.